My love, my love, my love…

I got a really fabulous text from a very dear friend of mine (some of you know him by his stage name, Glen Coco) late in the afternoon on Tuesday of this week. It was near the end of the 9-to-5 day, and it said:

Emilee [note to readers: a fellow Voxie with us] just sent me this acap version of “Same Love” and I’m currently ugly crying at my desk.

For those of you who don’t run in my circle on the reg, “ugly crying” is that embarrassing overemotional reaction we have to things like sappy Google commercials or that one video where the dude proposes to his girlfriend while she’s sitting in the trunk of a moving car (EVERY. FREAKING. TIME. Seriously.). It’s that terrible level of cry that you hope no one– not even the person you love & trust most in the world– ever bears witness to because of just how contorted your face gets while you squeeze the tears out and struggle for breath, simultaneously hoping you’ll never again/always feel the way you feel in that moment.

And so, even though we’re wanting nothing more than to hide/shred/bury/obliterate any evidence of any ugly cries we fall prey to, we know that the trigger video/lyric/performance/idea is just too good to keep to ourselves; there are so many friends & family members (AND STRANGERS!!!) who deserve an earnest ugly cry in front of their mirror or before they fall asleep or after a self-inflicted crisis over career choice. On a more simplistic level, we also feel the urge to recognize the absurdity of our visceral response to whatever the thing was.

Which is CLEARLY why I’m sharing with all of you the thing that made Glen (and, subsequently, me) bawl like a little babychild here in front of my computer at 2:42am on a Friday morning.

The paths from the tears rolling down my cheeks have since dried, but my admiration of the courage & purpose of these men sharing their gifts for something as big as this have certainly not. I am touched, inspired, and left thirsting for more reasons to ugly cry at the beautiful collective strength & resilience of we, the people.

PS: If you still occasionally follow along on here, AT, stay tuned through the end– they borrowed your GarageBand-born idea. 🙂

Leave a Reply

