Ins & Outs

Only a few of you know this, but I recently auditioned for and was accepted into a fabulous Chicago-based a cappella group for young professionals. The group is hilarious, very close-knit (remind you of anything, Loyolacafam?), and will serve as the perfect way for me to start singing (with others) regularly again (though, of course, that won't stop me from putting on my own performances around the apartment. SERRY NOT SERRY, neighbors & roommates!).

Being the youthful, tech-savvy crew that they are, InVox asked all 4 of us new members to send along brief bio-like lists about ourselves to add to the website. A few of the things we were supposed to include were "things I like," "things I don't like," and "guilty pleasure(s)."

WELL.

I love writing. And I LOVE lists. (It even says so in my bio.) And I also love that my commute takes 1.5 hours via CTA each way every day, because I was able to get caught up in listing dozens of things I love/abhor/do too much of...and since I couldn't possibly bombard my 12 new *besties* with every intimate detail about my favorite things in the world, I thought this would be the perfect place to unload the compilations in their entireties.

Plug: This was SO. MUCH. FUN. You should do it if your brain needs a few minutes between work tasks or if you're having trouble falling asleep or trying to drown out any harping your parents/landlord/significant other is doing. Try it. And then share it with me, for SURE.

Things I like: driving with my knees, social media, big earrings, penpals, striking up heart-to-hearts with strangers, the Wobble, wigs, Hillary Rodham Clinton, crossword puzzles, looking at people's wedding pictures, emoticons, list-making, hidden pockets, mittens attached to each other, ohio-centric clothes & accessories, google calendar, sweet potato fries, dips on dips on dips, consistently tipping more than 20%, standing on stationary objects, printing photos, hearing people's "deal breakers," meeting other Mollys, hyperbolic self-expression, feminist bookstores & nonprofit bookstores & used bookstores & local bookstores, real-life ghost stories, being locked out of places (let's be honest, it's FUNNY), kettle-boiled hot water, honey, outdoor farmers markets, inside jokes, clever billboards, playing bingo but never actually winning, changing into workout clothes but then winding up sitting on the couch eating raw cookie dough instead, corny jokes, hand henna, dive bars (complete with dark wood, window booths, cans of PBR, and/or pool tables), the purple line express, dance (in all forms), DQ mint Oreo blizzards, fresh herbs, goosebumps, pens that write in blue or purple, nostalgia, braids/pigtails/topsy tails/buns, custom-made t-shirts, the sound tap-dancing makes, finding ways to get onto roofs of buildings, skylines (any skyline) at night, the idea of learning sign language, pretty/interesting shower curtains, gauchos, being dipped while dancing with a partner, belgian wheat beer, Sad Keanu, fearlessness tribes, "feel better" songs, taking the long way

Things I dislike: when people end sentences with "so...", bad grammar in general, CTA germs, pencils, poorly-loaded dishwashers, selfies, small talk, pumping gas, Taylor Swift-anything, cynicism, bowling, mushrooms, time zone differences, tapioca, green olives, junk drawers, yogurt with chunks of fruit in it, sunscreen, sand used as a rock salt substitute when it's icy (looking at you, CTA), anne Hathaway, when people insist on making movie recommendations to me, when remaining cook time on the microwave isn't cleared, the smell of public restrooms, slutty Halloween costumes, styling mousse, crocs, unsubscribing from email lists (even ones I hate), those billboards that are on the backs of trucks that drive around during nightlife, online shopping, the fact that Partners was cancelled in Fall 2012, the obligatory gift-buying incited by holidays, the color people's nails turn if they always wear nail polish, strapless dresses, mops, sleeping in a bed with sheets while smelling like campfire smoke, when people talk to me during movies or profound songs

Guilty pleasures: Law & Order: SVU marathons, the Gays, late-night loaded nachos, jaywalking (almost exclusively), Jay & Silent Bob movies, Jbiebs' newest album, judging strangers' reading materials in public places, schnoz attractions, editing papers, pretending I speak French, staying home alone on a Friday, bragging about my chess record (never lost a game...also have only played one game), snuggling with my pillows at night, buying fresh flowers for myself, buying books I probably won't read for more than a year (and maybe never), Kelly Dull's chocolate chip cookies, sleeping through 3 alarms every morning
Leave a Reply

