New songs are the bomb diggity.

Passenger,” Lisa Hannigan (I LOVE that it refers to all my favorite places: mpls, Ohio, slc, Chi!)

Where We Gonna Go From Here,” Mat Kearney

Maybe I Missed the Point,” Jeff Bridges

Advice,” Jesse Ruben (this is a live version which I don’t prefer, but I couldn’t find a studio version on YouTube.  At least his pre-song banter is charming…?)

When a Heart Breaks,” Ben Rector

“Call Your Girlfriend,” All versions, from Robyn’s original to SNL’s remake to Erato’s a cappella version to Christopher in Denmark’s charming and heart-melting rendition

The Guy That Says Goodbye to You is Out of His Mind,” Griffin House

Anyone out there got good suggestions for what to fill my ears with next? 🙂

PS– I just love the meaning behind the lyrics of song #2, so I’m going to leave them here for you:

I know somebody whose life is tough.
I help a little, but it isn’t enough
Cuz I go an’ spend money on stupid stuff
When I know he’s strugglin’ to stay above.

An’ I have so many chances to be
The hero I believe’s inside of me
But I get busy and I get distracted
And I do nothin’ when I could’ve acted

I laid low when I could’ve stood high.
I said nothin’ when I should’ve asked why.
I saw somethin’ that I might’ve done and I didn’t,
A chance to speak my truth and I hid it.

Inside, I’d like to believe I’m cool,
Easy to love and hard to fool,
But I know there’s more I could’ve enjoyed.
Sometimes I find myself thinkin’
Maybe I missed the point.

So many times I turned down love,
Stayed in the dark when I could’ve lit it up,
But every time I did take a chance
Makes me happy when I’m lookin’ back

I’m not sayin’ my whole life feels like a joke
But I’ve been a master of mirrors and smoke
And I don’t wanna live
No mo’ without you.

One thought on “New songs are the bomb diggity.

Leave a Reply

