You pull me closer to love.

He might have been naive, but he didn’t care; he said he’d rather die with his heart on his sleeve than end up another cynic.

That line, originally from Colum McCann’s Let the Great World Spin, was featured in one of my first 26books blog entries back in January and it is still one of my favorite lines I’ve read in 2011.

As a select population of you are aware, this week was my birthday.  So much of the last month has been a roller coaster for me, but my trip to Chicago and my few days back at home since flooded my celebration with such wonderful love and reminded me of how lucky I am to have so many people who will go out of their ways to celebrate with me, spend quality time together, and even spend money on ridiculously beautiful wigs for une fête des cheveux. 😉

Simply the best.

Britt graduated from grad school over the weekend, too– WOOHOO!!! I am one step closer to fulfilling my lifelong dream of having a sugarmama/daddy. (Just kidding…a little bit.)  She had the pleasure of hearing Mitch Albom deliver an address to the Utes, and what she said really reinforced what I was feeling about the people surrounding me:

His overall message was “giving is living,” and when you come to the end of your life you are not wanting to hug your television goodbye– you want the people you love, so live your life that way.

I’m still waiting to see/hear the commencement in its entirety, but for now I’ll survive off the wonderful sneak peeks floating around the interwebs.   One article cites him as saying, “Don’t let people tell you to ‘get real,’ if real is a code word for getting cynical or too busy…Giving is living: Remember that lesson.”

His words were just the affirmation I needed to kick off an incredible year 24.
Here’s to love…and lots of it.

P.S.– A neverending and unadulterated thank you to anyone and everyone who played a role in my celebrations.  While I’m not a crazy self-birthday fanatic, I thrive off people like you who are intentional about being present with others.  I am so, so blessed to have people like you. 🙂

One thought on “You pull me closer to love.

  1. Alex says:

    I really enjoy how you can’t see anyone’s whole face except yours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

